All visualizations

Cardiovascular outcomes

How to read this chart

Did treatment reduce cardiovascular events?

  1. Read the ratio and its 95% confidence interval. For an unwanted event, a ratio below 1 favors treatment; crossing 1 means the interval includes no difference.
  2. Compare the same outcome and effect measure. Cardiovascular composites and primary, secondary or mixed prevention populations differ.
  3. Use Absolute events for recorded trial risks per 1,000 participants over each source horizon. Harms remain in study-specific safety details; the chart does not infer missing harm rates. In the time view, a point summarizes an effect over follow-up; it is not an effect measured at that instant.
Terms in this view
Confidence interval
A range expressing statistical uncertainty around an estimate. It is not the range of individual patients’ outcomes. A 95% interval procedure covers the true value in about 95% of repeated studies under its assumptions. Reference
Hazard ratio
Compares the event rate at a moment among people who have not yet had the event. A value below 1 favors treatment for an unwanted event. It does not directly give the difference in overall event probability. Reference
Risk ratio / rate ratio
A risk ratio compares event probabilities over a defined period; a rate ratio compares events per amount of follow-up. Both may be abbreviated RR. Check the study’s definition. Reference
Absolute versus relative
A fall from 10% to 8% is 2 percentage points lower, or a 20% relative reduction. The starting value and follow-up period matter. Reference

Figures include sources, study context and the current selection.

9 trial resultsEvidence checked Sep 13, 2026

Each trial’s cardiovascular composite is defined in its details; composites can include different events.

Cardiovascular events effect estimates and 95% confidence intervals0.40.50.711.251.6Therapy / trialHR · 95% confidence intervalEstimate [95% CI]← Lower event hazard / riskHigher event hazard / risk →AlirocumabAlirocumabODYSSEY OUTCOMES · SecondaryODYSSEY OUTCOMES · Secondary prevention — participants with established cardiovascular disease.0.85 [0.78–0.93]2.8 yearsAtorvastatinAtorvastatinSTAREE · PrimarySTAREE · Primary prevention — participants without established cardiovascular disease.0.70 [0.61–0.82]5.9 yearsBempedoic acidBempedoic acidCLEAR Outcomes · MixedCLEAR Outcomes · Mixed prevention — participants with and without established cardiovascular disease. The plotted estimate covers the full trial population.0.87 [0.79–0.96]3.38 yearsEvolocumabEvolocumabFOURIER · SecondaryFOURIER · Secondary prevention — participants with established cardiovascular disease.0.85 [0.79–0.92]2.2 yearsEvolocumabEvolocumabVESALIUS-CV · MixedVESALIUS-CV · Mixed prevention — participants with and without established cardiovascular disease. The plotted estimate covers the full trial population.0.75 [0.65–0.86]4.6 yearsEzetimibe + simvastatinEzetimibe + simvastatinIMPROVE-IT · SecondaryIMPROVE-IT · Secondary prevention — participants with established cardiovascular disease.0.936 [0.89–0.99]6 yearsIcosapent ethylIcosapent ethylREDUCE-IT · MixedREDUCE-IT · Mixed prevention — participants with and without established cardiovascular disease. The plotted estimate covers the full trial population.0.75 [0.68–0.83]4.9 yearsOmega-3 carboxylic acids (EPA …Omega-3 carboxylic acids (EPA + DHA)STRENGTH · MixedSTRENGTH · Mixed prevention — participants with and without established cardiovascular disease. The plotted estimate covers the full trial population.0.99 [0.90–1.09]3.5 yearsPemafibratePemafibratePROMINENT · MixedPROMINENT · Mixed prevention — participants with and without established cardiovascular disease. The plotted estimate covers the full trial population.1.03 [0.91–1.15]3.4 years
PCSK9 antibodiesStatinsATP citrate lyaseCholesterol absorptionPurified EPAEPA + DHAFibrates

A ratio of 1 means no relative difference. Lines show 95% confidence intervals. Trials differ in population, background treatment, and endpoint definition.

Select a study for its population, comparator, safety, and sources.

Study selection & comparison notes

Each row is one randomized trial, not a pooled estimate or a head-to-head drug ranking.

The default composite is the trial-defined primary cardiovascular outcome. Definitions differ; open each result to see its components.

HR denotes hazard ratio. HPS reported logrank event-rate ratios, kept separately as RR.

The follow-up view locates each trial estimate at its median or mean follow-up; it does not show a changing hazard ratio within a trial.

Raw event percentages and Kaplan–Meier estimates retain their original time horizons. Missing percentages are not inferred from incidence rates per person-year.

Mortality intervals may be nominal or outside the successful testing hierarchy. Trial-specific limitations identify this.

Outcomes not yet available to plot
  • Pelacarsen

    Sponsor announced September 4, 2026 that the primary cardiovascular composite was not met. An HR and confidence interval were not disclosed, so there is no numeric point yet.

    Full results at a forthcoming medical meeting; date not specified.

    Source
  • Inclisiran

    Dedicated cardiovascular outcome results remain pending; LDL-C lowering and exploratory pooled events are not substituted for a completed outcomes trial.

    Early 2027, following completion of follow-up during 2026.

    Source
  • Enlicitide

    Cardiovascular outcome trial is ongoing; biomarker results do not supply an event hazard ratio.

    Estimated primary completion November 2029; publication may follow later.

    Source

Cardiovascular outcomes